Strategic Plan Implementation

November 19, 2015

Dear Colleagues:

During the 2014-2015 academic year, the Humboldt State University community developed a strategic plan to guide the University toward 2020. This fall we have begun implementing the plan.

The implementation of the strategic plan requires us to work together, collaboratively, within and across divisions, units, and departments. Our strategic plan is based on the principles of transparency, communication, inclusiveness, and follow-through. In order to accomplish the goals outlined in the plan – supporting student success, fostering diversity, strengthening partnerships with local communities, and becoming a more sustainable organization in everything we do – we will have to let go of some of our old practices and work together with trust.

This implementation is being led by two groups. The Strategic Plan Coordinating Sub-Committee has identified activities on which to focus for the 2015-2016 year. The larger committee, the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee (SPOC), will convene later this month to:

  • Monitor progress toward achieving strategic goals,
  • Report progress to the University community,
  • Coordinate strategic activities with self-study requirements of our accrediting body, the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC),
  • Track strategic priorities with HSU’s institutional research data, and
  • Work with the URPC to align strategic priorities with strategic budgeting categories.

Both groups will work together to develop measures of progress toward our goals, and consult and communicate across the campus.

In the next few weeks, the Strategic Plan website will begin to include regular updates on the plan’s implementation. Your contributions matter and your voice is important. Please provide feedback using the link on the website. Thank you for joining us in this exciting work that will improve our institution for students and our communities.

With best wishes,

Lisa A. Rossbacher, Ph.D. 

Noah Zerbe, Ph.D.
Chair of the University Senate and Professor of Politics